Save the Date!

The Annual General Meeting of MDANZ will be held on Friday 24th of April at 6pm at the National Office, 419 Church Street East, Penrose, Auckland. Join us for an evening of interesting speakers, and mix and mingle with your National Council, staff and other MDANZ members.

Branch AGMS 2020

Northern: Saturday 21st of March, 2pm at the National Office - 419 Church Street East, Penrose, Auckland.

Central: Saturday 19th of April, 2pm at the Naenae Bowling Club - 25 Vogel Street, Naenae, Lower Hutt.

Canterbury: Saturday 4th of April, 2pm at the Chirstchurch Community House - 301 Tuam Street, Christchurch.

Southern: Saturday 28th of March, 2pm at the Cargill Enterprises, Dunedin.

National Council Nominations 2020

In accordance with the Constitution of the Muscular Dystrophy Association of New Zealand Incorporated (MDANZ), we are now seeking nominations from members who have an interest in serving on the National Council for a two year term. This is a vital role for the organisation and the nomination process is outlined below.

Nominations are being called for the following positions:

  • Rangatahi Representative
  • Four Councillors to be elected at large

The two-year term of office will start from the close of the Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Friday 24th April.  The first meeting of the National Council is scheduled for the following day, Saturday 25th April.  Both meetings will take place at the National Office in Auckland.  

Details of current position holders

Rangatahi Representative:

  • Scott Boyle: is standing down following his two-year term and is not available to be nominated for a further term as a Rangatahi rep.

Councillors at Large:

  • Jan Daly, Canterbury Branch member; is standing down following four years of service and is not available for re-election.
  • Brent Walker, Northern Branch member; is standing down following three years of service and is not available for re-election.
  • Scott Laurenson; Northern Branch member; is standing down following two years of service and is available to be nominated for re-election.

Nomination and Election Processes

Nominees must meet the eligibility requirements set out in Clauses 11.4 and 11.5 of the MDANZ constitution.  These requirements are attached as an appendix to this letter.

If there are not enough nominations received to fill the vacancies, nominations will be called for at the 2020 AGM.  If there are more nominations received than the number of vacant positions available, then a voting ballot will be held under the rules set out in Clause 12 of the MDANZ Constitution. 

Nomination Forms

National Council Nominations Form (downloadable version)

Nominations must be completed on the official form.  We ask that you please attach some information about yourself to accompany the nomination, such as relevant experience and what interests you about becoming involved in the governance of a nationwide, non-profit organisation.  This information should be around 250 words and will be used to inform members about nominees, (please note that we may edit information supplied).

You will need to return completed nomination forms, by 4.00 pm on Tuesday 31st March 2020 by one of the following means:

  • Post: to the Chief Executive, Muscular Dystrophy Association of New Zealand, PO Box 12063, Penrose, Auckland 1642
  • Email: to [email protected]
  • Hand delivery: to the National Office, 419 Church Street East, Penrose, Auckland

Please note that the Nominee, Proposer and Seconder must all be current members of MDANZ at the date of nomination and will need to provide their membership number.  Failure to meet these requirements may disqualify the nomination.  Your membership number is located at the top of this letter.  If you need any assistance, please email [email protected] or phone 0800 800 337 and one of our team will be happy to assist you.

Annual General Meeting 2019

The National AGM was held on the 26th April 2019 at National Office in Penrose Auckland and made available via web-conferencing for members and staff to join remotely.

Members and supporters were in attendance, including former National Council Chairperson, Helen Melrose.

Trevor Jenkin presented his Chairperson’s Report and noted the highlights as:

  • Becoming recognised as a Disabled Persons Organisation (DPO) and officially joining the DPO Coalition in September 2018.
  • The Discretionary Fund had 60 applications throughout the year, with 42 approvals totalling $20,000 of funds donated. This has assisted our members with education, equipment and other resources that are not covered by other funding sources.  
  • The Duke of Edinburgh Awards saw 3 out of 5 with the other 2 almost finished “Dukies” complete bronze level.
  • Promoting access to new treatments for SMA and other neuromuscular conditions has been a strong focus for 2018, and we look forward to continued collaborations in this space.
  • Organising the 60th Jubilee in August 2019 celebrating our 60th anniversary as an Incorporated Society.
  • The Association invested heavily into membership services with one off grants to branches for fieldwork service and the NRFT for research.

 The outcome of the National Council elections was announced.  Three councillor at large positions were available and only 1 was received from a sitting councillor, Jan Daly.  Kerry Stephenson decided not to re-stand this term. Trevor Jenkin confirmed that there were only 2 nominations for the position of Councillor-at-Large, they were: Joy Jenkin and Jan Daly.

Newly elected councillors are:

  • Joy Jenkin (Auckland) – Councillor at Large
  • Jan Daly (Timaru) - Councillor at Large

Formal business was followed by an engaging presentation from Dr. Tristram Ingham.

To view the 2018 annual report, click here.

Election process for National Councillors

Nominations process

In March each year we call for nominations to fill positions on National Council, as elected members reach the end of their two year term. Elected members can stand for re-election, however all people wanting to stand for National Council must meet eligibility criteria, complete an official nomination form and be nominated and seconded by current members of MDANZ.  

Voting process

If more nominations are received than positions available, we will conduct a ballot to elect National Council members.  Only formally registered members of MDANZ may vote during National Council elections.  Friends of the Association may not.  Only Rangatahi members aged 16-25 years may vote for the Rangatahi Representative.

Find out more

If you are interested in the role of the National Council and would like to find out more, please contact the National Chief Executive at National Office by phoning 0800 800 337 or email us at [email protected]