Central Region

The Central Region covers the lower half of the North Island including Taranaki, Whanganui, Rangitikei, Manawatū, Horowhenua, Kāpiti, Porirua, Wellington, Hutt, Wairarapa, Tararua, Hawke’s Bay, Wairoa, and Gisborne districts.

As the operational arm of the Muscular Dystrophy Association in this area the Central Region Branch are primarily responsible for maintaining all community-based member services across the region. As a disabled persons’ organisation and member-led charitable entity, we rely on donations and grants to continue our work in the community.  Our branch committee fundraise throughout the year to maintain our fieldwork service, for member events, and for special projects that improve the lives of people with neuromuscular conditions.

All our services are FREE – there is no cost to membership or to receive any of our community-based support.

Anyone with a neuromuscular condition, a partner/parent/or caregiver, or whānau/family member of a person with a neuromuscular condition are welcome to join and get involved. We also encourage Health Professionals to join (for a small membership fee in a non-voting capacity) so they can stay up-to-date with the latest developments in neuromuscular conditions, and provide optimal healthcare to our members.

If you are interested to hear more or becoming involved, please contact us by emailing info.central@mda.nz or by phoning the toll free line on 0800 886 626.

For Central Branch Committee information, please click here.

For Central Branch events, projects, news and newsletters, please click here.

Contact Information

PO Box PO Box 35059
Lower Hutt 5041
Phone (Toll Free) 0800 886 626
Email (General Enquiries) info.central@mda.nz
Member Correspondence
(exisiting members, enquiries & support requests)
Branch Details
(operations, sponsor/funder communications & branch management)
Financial Matters
(invoices, payments, donations & reimburshments)
(management & coordination)

Member Services Contact Information

The Central Region provides community-based member services (including fieldworkers) across three operational zones: Taranaki-ManawatūEast Coast, and Lower North Districts.
Our member support service is available 9am to 9pm 7-days per week, through our contact details: Freephone 0800 886 626 or Email members.central@mda.nz


Base: Palmerston North

For members in: New Plymouth, Stratford, South Taranaki, Ruapehu, Whanganui, Rangitikei, Manawatū, Palmerston North, Tararua, and Horowhenua districts.

East Coast

Base: Hawke’s Bay

For members in: Gisborne, Wairoa, Napier City, Hastings, and Central Hawke’s Bay districts.

Lower North

Base: Wellington

For members in: Kāpiti Coast, Porirua, Upper Hutt, Lower Hutt, Wellington City, Masterton, Carterton, and South Wairarapa districts.